Law Matters - in Scotland
Every Wednesday for 10 weeks. Law matters to all of us it shapes our communities and our lives but do we understand the law of the land we live in? The course will look firstly at the Rule of Law and its role in society before focusing on Scots Law, its history and development. The class will then look at the differences between common law and statute civil and criminal law. After that we will focus on two specific areas of law with which most people will come into contact the Law of Succession and the ownership of land, dealing particularly with the way Scotland's 400 year old public Register has changed in the past 40 years. Tutor: Elizabeth McGillivray.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Time
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, February 28, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, March 7, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 - 15:00
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 15:00
VenueUniversity of Dundee, Dalhousie Building
Event Contact URLhttp://lifelonglearningdundee.org.uk
Booking requiredNo
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/event/24141