A is for Avant-Garde
We are delighted to announce the reopening of Cooper Gallery with the much delayed exhibition, A is for Avant-Garde, Z is for Zero: Laura Mulvey and Peter Wollen. This retrospective uses the gallery space as a means to refract the work of influential theorists and filmmakers Laura Mulvey and Peter Wollen through the prism of art. Mulvey and Wollen's engagement with art and artists has always been a central dimension of their activities, exemplified by their numerous documentaries and ‘theory films' about or featuring artists, critical writings, teaching, curating, their production of artworks, and their role as important interlocutors for artists. Incorporating moving-image works, audio recordings, drawings, diagrams, photographs and archival materials, A is for Avant-Garde, Z is for Zero maps the co-ordinates of two transdisciplinary, overlapping practices which includes collaborations and conversations with esteemed figures in art and culture such as Faysal Abdullah, Kathy Acker, Emma Hedditch, Mary Kelly, Mark Lewis, Yvonne Rainer and Kerry Tribe. More information on our website. We have introduced a number of new safety measures to make Cooper Gallery a safe place to visit and work, ensuring physical distancing is maintained. Visit gallery website for full details. The exhibition is free but ticketed. Time slots available to book via Eventbrite.. The gallery is on two floors with the exhibition taking place on both levels. First floor has ramped access and disabled toilet. Second floor is accessible via lift and for wheelchair access via a stair climber. Large print versions of the exhibition information handout are available, please ask at our gallery office or by email. For enquiries please contact: exhibitions@dundee.ac.uk

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Time
Tuesday, October 6, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 7, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 8, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 9, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 11:00
Tuesday, October 13, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 15, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 16, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 17, 2020 - 11:00
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 23, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 24, 2020 - 11:00
Tuesday, October 27, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 30, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 31, 2020 - 11:00
VenueUniversity of Dundee, Cooper Gallery
Event Contact URLhttp://www.dundee.ac.uk/cooper-gallery/exhibitions/aisforavant-gardezisforzerolauramulveypeterwollen/
Booking requiredYes
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/events/event/29350