Ice Bound - Art Exhibition By Darren Rees
Award-winning artist Darren Rees received the coveted Artist in Residency honour from the Friends of The Scott Polar Research Institute in 2015. From February 26th to March 30th he travelled with the Royal Navy on the ice-breaker HMS Protector from the Falkland Islands to the Antarctic Peninsula. His Ice Bound exhibition (and book with Mascot Media) documents his journey in the far south with works depicting the busy penguin colonies on the Falklands at Volunteer Point, Gypsy and Telephone Coves; albatross, petrel and shearwater encounters during the crossing of the rich waters of the Drake Passage; elephant seal, blue-eyed shags and Adelie penguin residents of Rothera British Antarctic Survey base; and the unforgettable sight of whale-filled seas of Antarctica. Most of the collection of sketches, watercolour and acrylic paintings were executed in situ in Antarctica, but also included in the show are some larger canvasses that Darren painted in the studio on his return, including pieces that are being exhibited for the first time.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Time
Saturday, January 19, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, January 20, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, January 21, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, January 24, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, January 25, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, January 26, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, January 27, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, January 28, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, February 1, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, February 4, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, February 7, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, February 8, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, February 9, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, February 11, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, February 14, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, February 15, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, February 16, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, February 17, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, February 18, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, February 21, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, February 23, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, February 25, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, February 27, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, March 2, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, March 3, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, March 8, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, March 9, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, March 11, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, March 15, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, March 16, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, March 18, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, March 23, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, March 25, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, April 1, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, April 4, 2019 - 10:00
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 10:00
Saturday, April 6, 2019 - 10:00
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 11:00
Monday, April 8, 2019 - 10:00
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 - 10:00
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - 10:00
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 10:00
VenueDiscovery Point
Event ContactDiscovery Point
Event Phone01382 309060
Event Contact URLhttp://www.rrsdiscovery.com
Booking requiredNo
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/events/event/26584