Mary McIntyre: Places We Think We Know
This exhibition marks the first major solo presentation in Scotland by Irish artist Mary McIntyre, debuting a new body of work commissioned for DCA. McIntyre has explored different types of 'space' in her work in myriad ways over the past two decades, and these investigations often focus on photographic depictions of places that have been forgotten or overlooked. The images she makes are frequently imbued with a psychological charge, hinting at traces of recent human presence and activity in evocative landscapes or interiors. McIntyre is also interested in how a photograph occupies a gallery space as a physical object, and how the environment surrounding the image might inform how a work is experienced. She uses sculptural installation as a means of activating the rooms that her photographs inhabit, and in doing so makes a viewer more aware of the act of ‘looking'. Notions of interior space (both physical and psychological) have long reverberated throughout McIntyre's practice, and in her new body of work for DCA, she presents a viewer with images of quiet interiors; rooms which at first appear to be empty and unremarkable. Upon closer inspection, however, they slowly reveal a rich tapestry of traces and associations - frayed and discoloured carpet tiles, stained walls, makeshift partitions, and disturbed dust and detritus all speak of previous occupation by unknown inhabitants. Accompanying these works, the artist will construct a series of large-scale installations that intersect the gallery space in different ways to create bespoke environments from which to consider each image. With every step taken through these installations, a viewer becomes aware of their own body moving towards the photograph in order to view it, and the experience of looking at the artwork is intensified in a multi-sensory way by the colours, textures, objects and sounds that McIntyre has chosen to surround the image with. Recently, McIntyre has become increasingly engaged in collaborative and cross-disciplinary practice, in particular as the founder of the electronic record label TONN recordings, and this exhibition at DCA will also debut a new suite of modular synth compositions by Sean McBride of Martial Canterel made in response to the artist's photographs. This musical element of the project will be audible in the gallery at different times of the day, further enriching the experience of moving through the exhibition and engaging with McIntyre's new work. Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Time
Saturday, August 21, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, August 22, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, August 23, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, August 27, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, August 28, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, August 29, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, August 30, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, September 2, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, September 3, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, September 4, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, September 5, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, September 6, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, September 10, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, September 12, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, September 13, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, September 18, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, September 19, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, September 20, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, September 24, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, September 25, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, September 27, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, October 2, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, October 3, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, October 4, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, October 8, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, October 9, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, October 10, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, October 11, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, October 14, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, October 15, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, October 16, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, October 17, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, October 18, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, October 22, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, October 23, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, October 24, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, October 25, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, October 28, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, October 29, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, October 30, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, October 31, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, November 1, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, November 4, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, November 5, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, November 6, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, November 7, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, November 8, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, November 9, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, November 11, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, November 12, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, November 13, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, November 14, 2021 - 10:00
Monday, November 15, 2021 - 10:00
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 - 10:00
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 - 10:00
Thursday, November 18, 2021 - 10:00
Friday, November 19, 2021 - 10:00
Saturday, November 20, 2021 - 10:00
Sunday, November 21, 2021 - 10:00
VenueDundee Contemporary Arts
Event Contact URLhttp://www.dca.org.uk/whats-on/event/mary-mcintyre
Booking requiredYes
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/events/event/29650