Matthew Arthur Williams
This exhibition debuts a new body of work by Glasgow-based artist Matthew Arthur Williams, marking his first major solo exhibition in a UK institution. Throughout his career Williams' work has developed through close collaboration with others, creating projects that explore visibility, care, love, family, memory, representation and resistance. His work expands on traditional understandings of portraiture by concentrating on defying erasure, building an archive of subjects and shifting narratives considering what it means to be Black, to be queer, and to inhabit rural environments. This exhibition spanning both galleries at DCA will centre around a newly commissioned film and sound installation alongside photographic work, developed using conversations, interviews and materials from both public and private histories, records and archives. In this work, Williams draws together a number of disparate places - particularly Stoke-on-Trent in England and Clarendon in Jamaica - which intimately connect to a far-reaching and complex conception of home for the artist. Many of the production techniques used within this project are deliberately analogue in nature, including black and white photography and 16mm film. These delicate processes bear the marks of the artist's hand and body more readily than their digital counterparts, which we are all used to consuming at an accelerated rate through screens and monitors in our daily lives. In his work Williams refuses modes of rapid consumption in favour of slow and careful approaches to considered and responsible image making. The title Soon Come is also a gentle invitation to slow down our thinking in fast-paced environments. In the West Indies, particularly in Jamaica, ‘soon come' is an elusive sentiment that bypasses a specific idea of time or progress and instead embraces the unknown and ungraspable. For Williams, the meaning behind this phrase hints at both the immediate and the eternal: "It's multiplicitous. It's between now and never." Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.
Time
Saturday, December 10, 2022 - 11:00
Sunday, December 11, 2022 - 11:00
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 - 11:00
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 - 11:00
Thursday, December 15, 2022 - 11:00
Friday, December 16, 2022 - 11:00
Saturday, December 17, 2022 - 11:00
Sunday, December 18, 2022 - 11:00
Tuesday, December 20, 2022 - 11:00
Wednesday, December 21, 2022 - 11:00
Thursday, December 22, 2022 - 11:00
Friday, December 23, 2022 - 11:00
Tuesday, December 27, 2022 - 11:00
Wednesday, December 28, 2022 - 11:00
Thursday, December 29, 2022 - 11:00
Friday, December 30, 2022 - 11:00
Saturday, December 31, 2022 - 11:00
Wednesday, January 4, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, January 5, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, January 6, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, January 7, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, January 8, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, January 11, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, January 12, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, January 13, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, January 14, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, January 15, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, January 19, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, January 20, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, January 21, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, January 22, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, January 26, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, January 27, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, January 28, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, January 29, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, February 2, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, February 3, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, February 4, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, February 5, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, February 9, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, February 10, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, February 11, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, February 16, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, February 17, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, February 18, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, February 19, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, February 23, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, February 24, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, February 25, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, February 26, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, March 1, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, March 2, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, March 3, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, March 4, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, March 5, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, March 7, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, March 8, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, March 9, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, March 10, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, March 11, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, March 12, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, March 14, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, March 16, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, March 17, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, March 18, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, March 19, 2023 - 11:00
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 - 11:00
Wednesday, March 22, 2023 - 11:00
Thursday, March 23, 2023 - 11:00
Friday, March 24, 2023 - 11:00
Saturday, March 25, 2023 - 11:00
Sunday, March 26, 2023 - 11:00
VenueDundee Contemporary Arts
Event ContactDundee Contemporary Arts
Event Phone01382 432444
Event Contact URLhttp://www.dca.org.uk/whats-on/event/matthew-arthur-williams-soon-come
Booking requiredNo
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/events/event/31002