Stuart Whipps: If Wishes Were Thrushes, Beggars Would Eat Birds
Stuart Whipps: If Wishes Were Thrushes, Beggars Would Eat Birds explores the histories of specific plants and minerals in different parts of the world. Whipps is known for often making work about things he does not understand or skills that he does not readily possess. This practice of rigorous curiosity and learning has resulted in projects slowly unfolding where the artist has trained in various other professions and disciplines. In recent years this has included restoring a 1979 Mini with the assistance of former British Leyland workers, learning to make geological thin sections at the University of Birmingham and working with a seventeenth-century sign language devised by Sir Christopher Wren. At the heart of this new exhibition is an exploration of a selection of gardens, and characters and stories connected to them. Through installation, photography, film and sound, Whipps explores ideas of cultivated landscapes through different timeframes and personal narratives connected to specific sites and materials. The artist's voice will gently guide visitors through a choreographed sequence of moving images projected across a range of digital and analogue forms. This narration gathers together histories and stories from Scotland, Ireland, England, France, Switzerland and Mexico, whilst macro and micro images move from industrial scenes of limestone quarrying and cutting, to minute details of leaf veins and organic plant structures. Within this new research, the artist seeks to question the seeming neutrality of materials such as plants and stones. With this work, Whipps invites us to consider how people have worked with materials over vast periods of time, whether through practical practices of resource extraction or through wider political frameworks of empire building and colonial thinking. Planning your visit Please book your free ticket in advance. Admission for your chosen timeslot will end 15 minutes after the advertised time. You can stay in the exhibition for an hour after the advertised start of your timeslot. What to expect Reduced visitor numbers. Written and audio guides available in advance in place of guided tours. Visiting safely Wear a face covering unless you're exempt from doing so. Observe social distancing. Follow directional signage. Use the hand sanitiser provided and wash your hands regularly. Don't visit if you aren't feeling well.

Information published by Leisure and Culture Dundee.

Time
Saturday, September 12, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, September 13, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, September 17, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, September 18, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, September 19, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, September 20, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, September 23, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, September 24, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, September 25, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, September 26, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, September 27, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, September 30, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 1, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 2, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 3, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, October 4, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 7, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 8, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 9, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 10, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, October 11, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 15, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 16, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 17, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, October 18, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 22, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 23, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 24, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, October 25, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, October 30, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, October 31, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, November 1, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, November 5, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, November 6, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, November 7, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, November 8, 2020 - 11:00
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 - 11:00
Thursday, November 12, 2020 - 11:00
Friday, November 13, 2020 - 11:00
Saturday, November 14, 2020 - 11:00
Sunday, November 15, 2020 - 11:00
VenueDundee Contemporary Arts
Event ContactDundee Contemporary Arts
Event Phone01382 432 444
Event Contact URLhttp://www.dca.org.uk
Booking requiredYes
Event Linkhttp://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/events/event/29351