Built in 1496, Broughty Castle has survived countless sieges and battles.

Today it houses fascinating displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, the environment and the wildlife that live close by.

The Orchar Gallery located within the Castle, features a selection of around 30 paintings from the amazing Orchar Collection - one of the most important collections of Scottish Victorian art in the country, once owned by James Guthrie Orchar, (1825-1898), a prominent Dundee businessman and a former Lord Provost of Broughty Ferry.

Minutes from the Broughty Ferry beach and esplanade, the museum has magnificent views over the River Tay.

The Howff

The Howff is the name given to the historic graveyard that lies on the south of Meadowside in Dundee. It occupies the garden of the former Greyfriars monastery, which was founded by Devorgilla Balliol in the 13th Century. The monastery was destroyed in 1548 and Mary Queen of Scots gifted the land...

University of Dundee Museum Collections

The University of Dundee holds unique and fascinating museum collections including scientific instruments, natural history specimens and an impressive art collection of paintings, prints and textiles.There is always something interesting to see in the free public exhibition galleries, plus there...