HMS Frigate Unicorn

HMS Unicorn was designed as one of the last of the successful Leda class frigates, 150 feet long and armed with 46 guns. Take a step back in time to when Britannia ruled the waves an experience what is now one of the best preserved and least altered wooden hull ships in the world.

His Majesty's Frigate Unicorn was a fast and powerful war ship launched in 1824, and is now docked at...

Broughty Castle Museum

Built in 1496, Broughty Castle has survived countless sieges and battles.

Today it houses fascinating displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, the environment and the wildlife that live close by.

The Orchar Gallery located within the Castle, features a selection of around 30 paintings from the amazing Orchar Collection - one of the most important collections...

Claypotts Castle

Claypotts Castle was built by John Strachan between 1569 and 1588, and later owned by ‘Bonnie Dundee', John Graham of Claverhouse. Standing at the northeastern edge of Dundee, the Castle was inhabited into the 19th Century. The castle's architecture is still intact and has hardly been altered over the years.  Entry to the castle is available by apointment.

Cox's Stack

Cox's Stack is an 85m (282 ft) high chimney in the Lochee area of the city and one of the remaining relics of Dundee's once buoyant jute industry. It was constructed in 1866 and formed part of the Cox Brothers' Camperdown Works, one of the largest jute factories of its time. Modelled on an Italian campanile, the Stack was designed by local architect James MacLaren.

Special Events

Dundee’s main attractions run a varied programme of special events, entertainment and talks throughout the year. Check out individual websites for details and download the Dundee App to access up-to-the minute WHAT’S ON information on your smartphone or i-pad.   

 

Dudhope Castle

This extended late-medieval tower house is located on the southern face of The Law and was built in the late 13th century by the Scrymageour family. The castle was redeveloped between 1985 and 1988, and is now in use as offices and a conference centre as well as housing the University of Abertay's Dundee Business School.

The Howff

The Howff is the name given to the historic graveyard that lies on the south of Meadowside in Dundee. It occupies the garden of the former Greyfriars monastery, which was founded by Devorgilla Balliol in the 13th Century. The monastery was destroyed in 1548 and Mary Queen of Scots gifted the land to Dundee. 

The Magdalen Green Band Stand

The bandstand was built in 1890 and is an iconic Dundee image, immortalised by the paintings of James McIntosh Patrick (1907-1998).

You can just catch the Tay Rail Bridge to the left of the bandstand and the distant Fife skyline.

The ornate bandstand plays host to Sunday performances by brass bands during the summer months.

Mains Castle

Mains Castle is a medieval castle thought to have been built around 1562 by Sir David Graham. Restored in the early 80s, it's now a restaurant and Bar and is a popular wedding location.

Meadow Mill Studios

Wasps Studios started its life in Dundee in 1977 and has grown to provide studios for creative people across Scotland. Located in Meadow Mill, an historic jute mill which they have occupied since 1989, they successfully redeveloped the studios in 2012. The Mill now provides 58 high quality studios for up to 100 artists and makers working across varying disciplines.

It also houses a...

Pages